Red rumped parrot


Red-rumped parrot (Psephotus haematonotus). This pair of Red-rumped photographed at my local patch. It is common to see pairs of Red-rumped parrot bathing in the creek. However, trying  to photograph them prove to be a little challenging with the reach of my 400mm lens.  I was lucky the other day, while trying to photograph the Eastern Great Egret, this pair landed about 2.5 meters away from me. They probably did not notice me sitting quietly behind a Banksia bush.

The male bird is the colourful one, with red feathers over the rump. The female Red-rumped parrot is olive in colour and does not have a red rump.
Red_rumped_parrot_1C0A2842

Love is… enjoying simple pleasure of life together?

Red_rumped_parrot_1C0A2839
The two photos below were taken in 2008, somewhere in Canberra.

Red_rumped_parrot_IMG_0635
Kissing parrots, unfortunately they were camera shy. When I moved to a better position, the pair flew off.

Red_rumped_parrot_IMG_0688

The green plumage of the Red-rumped parrot is perfect for camouflage while it feed on the ground in ankle deep grass.

It took 5 years and multiple bush walking trips to bring you these pictures. I hope you like it.

Leave a comment